European Mixed Team Championships – Ramenskoe, Moscow

Posted: February 8, 2013 in Uncategorized
Photos courtesy of BE & Badminton Photo

Likely stars in Moscow

It’s time to pack up the camera equipment once again after a long layoff and put on the snow boots as I head to Moscow as part of Badminton Europe’s media crew for next week’s European Mixed Team Championships.

The road to Moscow has indeed been a bumpy one and I have not even left home. Once again the process of getting a Russian visa has been exhausting and expensive.

All that aside I am really looking forward to the trip as this trip brings some new fresh challenges. Badminton Europe recently signed a deal with Total Sports Asia as their new media partner which means next week’s tournament will be broadcast in Asia, well at least for the semi-finals and finals that is.

The week coming will see me behind the lens once again but this time it will be more video than stills camera. A slightly new brief from BE where I will be conducting and compiling a 5 minute round up for Total Sports Asia for each of the days play. This is something I am really looking forward to. I love video and I love capturing those epic moments which to me is vitally important in relaying the excitement of our sport

Apart from that I will still have my usual BE.tv commitment which I love doing especially post match interviews but there will be less photographic work this week as I just cannot do it all and we will have the great team from Badminton Photo on site to look after the still images. Of course I will still shoot any pictures I can but my time will be limited.

There is nothing like the excitement of a team badminton event and I count myself fortunate to be attending and working at this event as I will be at the European Junior next month in Turkey. I am looking forward to supporting team Ireland in Russia and seeing can any nation out there give the Danes a run for their money.

On the lead up to the Championships I have written a preview piece for Badminton Europe which you can read by clicking HERE and remember to follow BE on Facebook and on twitter (@EuropeBEC) for the latest news and gossip from Ramenskoe and don’t forget the hashtag #EMTC13 with all your tweets.

Let the games begin.

Leave a Reply

